The Continuum of Care Advisory Board

The Continuum of Care Advisory Board is an independent body made up of local stakeholders who are committed to ending homelessness in Sacramento. They are responsible for advising Sacramento Steps Forward on matters related to the Homeless Emergency Assistance and Rapid Transition to Housing (HEARTH) Act and the associated federal funding awarded to local service providers each year.

Advisory Board Members

Sarah Bontrager

Vice Chair

Housing and Public Services Manager, City of Elk Grove

Representing: Local Government

Emily Bender


Director of Programs, Sacramento LGBT Community Center

Representing: Youth & LGBT

A. Jonathan Porteus, Ph.D.


Chief Executive Officer, WellSpace Health

Representing: Social Services Provider

Alexis Bernard

Director of Housing, Turning Point Community Programs

Representing: Mental Health

Joycelynn Brown-Hollis

Site Director, Sacramento Veterans Resource Center

Representing: Veterans

Cindy Cavanaugh

Director of Homeless Initiatives, County of Sacramento

Representing: Local Government

Alyson Collier

Coordinator, Education of Homeless Children and Youth, Sacramento County Office of Education

Representing: School Administrators/Homeless Liaisons

Cathy Creswell

President, Sacramento Housing Allaince

Representing: Homeless Advocate

Dion Dwyer

Community Service Director, Downtown Sacramento Partnership

Representing: Business Community

John Foley

Executive Director, Sacramento Self Help Housing

Representing: Homeless Services

Katie Freeny

El Hogar Guest House Homeless Clinic

Representing: Mental Health

Emily Halcon

Homeless Services Coordinator, City of Sacramento

Representing: Local Government

Todd Henry

Lieutenant, Sacramento Sheriff’s Department

Representing: Law Enforcement & Jail

Stefan Heisler

Reinvestment Analyst, City of Rancho Cordova

Representing: Local Government

Mike Jaske

Volunteer Advocate, SacACT

Representing: Faith Community Advocate

Erin Johansen

Executive Director, TLCS

Representing: Mental Health

Noel Kammermann

CEO, Loaves and Fishes

Representing: Local Homeless Coalition/Network

Olivia Kasirye, MD

Public Health Officer, County of Sacramento

Representing: Public Health

John Krantz

Representing: Formerly Homeless

Dan Monk

Lieutenant, Sacramento Police Department

Representing: Law Enforcement

Amani Sawires Rapaski

Chief Operating Officer, Volunteers of America-NCNN

Representing: Substance Abuse

Sarah Thomas

Assistant Director, Sacramento Housing & Redevelopment Agency

Representing: Housing Authority